everything changes

September 15, 2011 at 3:09 am 2 comments

Hello, people who have shown interest in my songs. I wrote one tonight. I was inspired by a conversation I had with a friend and it kind of became a thing of its own. Why do I always write relationshippy songs? I suppose I’m just that type. Anywho…

I decided to take advantage of one of the gizmos on my phone and the glory of the internets to make a rough recording of the song and upload it to share with you. Lyrics follow below. I messed up in a few places but I don’t think it’s half bad for something I just came up with. The annoying thing is because the melody and chords of the verses are close to “If I Die Young” by The Band Perry, I slip into that cadence naturally because I’m trying to focus on not butchering a chord. My finger still slipped once or twice, though, so it seems it was all for naught. Oh well. Let me know what you think, please, or even if you listened to it at all. Always nice to know someone’s listening, even if they’re listening to total shit. ❤

“Everything Changes”

Funny, when the shot hits, everything changes
Blood runs cold and it’s over in an instant
Nothing left to fight for, but still the death is slow
And that’s how life is — everything changes
Time moves on and people grow apart
But I don’t believe it, not for an instant
Not with a piece of my heart

I wanna grow old with you
Not have you be someone I knew
I don’t wanna fall out of touch
I don’t wanna miss you this much

Look at you and me picking up our paces
Headed down the road in a troubled direction
So much left to fight for, but you gave up along the way
And you moved on hoping it would change us
Took your road in another direction
But I wont give in, not even a little bit
Not with a beat of my heart (to Chorus)

Time was never my enemy, but he’s never been pleasant company
I needed some Love to carry me and keep me in the saner way
When Loneliness, she buried me with the weight of her affection
You came along and rescued me with a love that made you say… (to Chorus)

But that’s how life is — everything changes
Blood runs cold and it’s over in an instant…

There’s so much left to fight for

Entry filed under: deep thoughts, music, prose/poetry.

northbound train i remember he loved abba-zaba…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. India  |  September 16, 2011 at 7:27 am

    the mistakes were not easy to detect at all; i don’t know what you were talking about! i did hear where you slipped into “if i die young,” but it was so brief…

    i really enjoyed it. it was slightly reminiscent of amy grant and something else i can’t quite place. nice one, though!

    Reply
    • 2. Anna  |  September 22, 2011 at 3:45 am

      Belated response, but this comment absolutely made my day. ❤

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories

When she said it…

September 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Give a crap what the woman has to say? Get notified by email when she opens her mouth again.

Join 3 other followers


